+1 (209) 851-2928

OPEN WATER DIVER The world's most popular scuba diving course

The PADI Open Water Diver course with JUSTIN'S SCUBA TIME

If you've always wanted to learn how to scuba dive, discover new adventures or simply see the wonderous world beneath the waves, this is where it starts. The PADI Open Water Diver course is the world's most popular scuba course, and has introduced millions of people to the adventurous diving lifestyle.


What You Learn

The PADI Open Water Diver course consists of three main phases:

  • Knowledge Development (online, home study or in a classroom) to understand basic principles of scuba diving,
  • Confined Water Dives to learn basic scuba skills,
  • Open Water Dives to review your skills and explore!

If you've participated in a Discover Scuba Diving experience or resort course, the skills you learned may be credited towards a portion of the full PADI Open Water Diver course certification.


Prerequisites

To enroll in the PADI Open Diver course or Junior Open Water Diver course, you must be:

  • 10 years or older (PADI eLearning requires a minimum age of 13 years due to international internet laws).


The Fun Part

The fun part about this course is...well, just about all of it because learning to dive is incredible. You breathe underwater for the first time (something you'll never forget) and learn what you need to know to become a certified diver. During the course, you'll make at least five pool dives and four dives at local dive sites under the supervision of your PADI Instructor.


The Scuba Gear You Use

In the PADI Open Water Diver course, you learn to use basic scuba gear including a dive computer, and standard accessories. The equipment you wear will be chosen by a JUSTIN'S SCUBA TIME Representative to ensure your comfort throughout the course.


The Learning Materials You Need

PADI offers a variety of home-study materials for the Open Water Diver course. Recently PADI has enhanced this program by offering the learning material in an Elearning environment via the internet.

Contact JUSTIN'S SCUBA TIME to personalise the best study option for you!

PADI's Open Water Diver materials cover what you need to know about basic scuba diving skills, terminology and safety procedures. For each concept you'll read a description and watch a video demonstration. Then you'll jump in the pool to practice these skills with your instructor.

How Much Will It Cost?

This is often one of the most frequently asked questions and the problem with this question is that there is unfortunately no answer that will be 100% accurate. The best that we can do is provide you with a breakdown of the costs that we know and provide you with a realistic estimate of the total cost.

The tuition for the course will cost $235. The PADI certification card will cost $30. The learning materials for the course will cost $90. And the equipment rental for the course will cost $72. Students will be required to have their own mask, snorkel and fins. For this reason, a general estimation of the cost for the course is approximately $600 per student.

  Start Date End Date Places Available   Price    
03 Jul 2021 18 Jul 2021 1 US$ 245.00

Orientation
Sat 03 Jul 2021
01:00 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session 1
Sat 10 Jul 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Sat 10 Jul 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Sun 11 Jul 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Sun 11 Jul 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 17 Jul 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Open Water Day 2
Sun 18 Jul 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info

06 Jul 2021 25 Jul 2021 0 US$ 245.00

Orientation
Tue 06 Jul 2021
06:30 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session1
Tue 13 Jul 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Thu 15 Jul 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Tue 20 Jul 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Thu 22 Jul 2021
08:00 PM
60 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 24 Jul 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Open Water Day 2
Sun 25 Jul 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info

27 Jul 2021 15 Aug 2021 4 US$ 245.00

Orientation
Tue 27 Jul 2021
06:30 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session1
Tue 03 Aug 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Thu 05 Aug 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Tue 10 Aug 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Thu 12 Aug 2021
08:00 PM
60 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 14 Aug 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Open Water Day 2
Sun 15 Aug 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info

31 Jul 2021 15 Aug 2021 1 US$ 245.00

Orientation
Sat 31 Jul 2021
01:00 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session 1
Sat 07 Aug 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Sat 07 Aug 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Sun 08 Aug 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Sun 08 Aug 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 14 Aug 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Open Water Day 2
Sun 15 Aug 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info

07 Sep 2021 03 Oct 2021 4 US$ 245.00

Orientation
Tue 07 Sep 2021
06:30 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session1
Tue 14 Sep 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Thu 16 Sep 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Tue 21 Sep 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Thu 23 Sep 2021
08:00 PM
60 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 02 Oct 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Open Water Day 2
Sun 03 Oct 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info

11 Sep 2021 03 Oct 2021 4 US$ 245.00

Orientation
Sat 11 Sep 2021
01:00 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session 1
Sat 18 Sep 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Sat 18 Sep 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Sun 19 Sep 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Sun 19 Sep 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 25 Sep 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Open Water Day 2
Sun 26 Sep 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info

02 Oct 2021 17 Oct 2021 4 US$ 245.00

Orientation
Sat 02 Oct 2021
01:00 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session 1
Sat 09 Oct 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Sat 09 Oct 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Sun 10 Oct 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Sun 10 Oct 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 16 Oct 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Monterey - Breakwater
Open Water Day 2
Sun 17 Oct 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Monterey - Breakwater
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info

05 Oct 2021 24 Oct 2021 4 US$ 245.00

Orientation
Tue 05 Oct 2021
06:30 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session1
Tue 12 Oct 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Thu 14 Oct 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Tue 19 Oct 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Thu 21 Oct 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 23 Oct 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Monterey - Breakwater
Open Water Day 2
Sun 24 Oct 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Monterey - Breakwater
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info

02 Nov 2021 21 Nov 2021 4 US$ 245.00

Orientation
Tue 02 Nov 2021
06:30 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session1
Tue 09 Nov 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Thu 11 Nov 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Tue 16 Nov 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Thu 18 Nov 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 20 Nov 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Monterey - Breakwater
Open Water Day 2
Sun 21 Nov 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Monterey - Breakwater
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info

06 Nov 2021 21 Nov 2021 4 US$ 245.00

Orientation
Sat 06 Nov 2021
01:00 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session 1
Sat 13 Nov 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Sat 13 Nov 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Sun 14 Nov 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Sun 14 Nov 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 20 Nov 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Monterey - Breakwater
Open Water Day 2
Sun 21 Nov 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Monterey - Breakwater
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info