+1 (209) 851-2928

OPEN WATER DIVER The world's most popular scuba diving course

The PADI Open Water Diver course with JUSTIN'S SCUBA TIME

If you've always wanted to learn how to scuba dive, discover new adventures or simply see the wonderous world beneath the waves, this is where it starts. The PADI Open Water Diver course is the world's most popular scuba course, and has introduced millions of people to the adventurous diving lifestyle.


What You Learn

The PADI Open Water Diver course consists of three main phases:

  • Knowledge Development (online, home study or in a classroom) to understand basic principles of scuba diving,
  • Confined Water Dives to learn basic scuba skills,
  • Open Water Dives to review your skills and explore!

If you've participated in a Discover Scuba Diving experience or resort course, the skills you learned may be credited towards a portion of the full PADI Open Water Diver course certification.


Prerequisites

To enroll in the PADI Open Diver course or Junior Open Water Diver course, you must be:

  • 10 years or older (PADI eLearning requires a minimum age of 13 years due to international internet laws).


The Fun Part

The fun part about this course is...well, just about all of it because learning to dive is incredible. You breathe underwater for the first time (something you'll never forget) and learn what you need to know to become a certified diver. During the course, you'll make at least five pool dives and four dives at local dive sites under the supervision of your PADI Instructor.


The Scuba Gear You Use

In the PADI Open Water Diver course, you learn to use basic scuba gear including a dive computer, and standard accessories. The equipment you wear will be chosen by a JUSTIN'S SCUBA TIME Representative to ensure your comfort throughout the course.


The Learning Materials You Need

PADI offers a variety of home-study materials for the Open Water Diver course. Recently PADI has enhanced this program by offering the learning material in an Elearning environment via the internet.

Contact JUSTIN'S SCUBA TIME to personalise the best study option for you!

PADI's Open Water Diver materials cover what you need to know about basic scuba diving skills, terminology and safety procedures. For each concept you'll read a description and watch a video demonstration. Then you'll jump in the pool to practice these skills with your instructor.

How Much Will It Cost?

This is often one of the most frequently asked questions and the problem with this question is that there is unfortunately no answer that will be 100% accurate. The best that we can do is provide you with a breakdown of the costs that we know and provide you with a realistic estimate of the total cost.

The tuition for the course will cost $235. The PADI certification card will cost $30. The learning materials for the course will cost $90. And the equipment rental for the course will cost $72. Students will be required to have their own mask, snorkel and fins. For this reason, a general estimation of the cost for the course is approximately $600 per student.

  Start Date End Date Places Available   Price    
06 Mar 2021 21 Mar 2021 3 US$ 235.00

Orientation
Sat 06 Mar 2021
01:00 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session 1
Sat 13 Mar 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Sat 13 Mar 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Sun 14 Mar 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Sun 14 Mar 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 20 Mar 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Monterey - Breakwater
Open Water Day 2
Sun 21 Mar 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Monterey - Breakwater
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info

06 Apr 2021 02 May 2021 8 US$ 235.00

Orientation
Tue 06 Apr 2021
06:30 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session1
Tue 13 Apr 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Thu 15 Apr 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Tue 20 Apr 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Thu 22 Apr 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 01 May 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Monterey - Breakwater
Open Water Day 2
Sun 02 May 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Monterey - Breakwater
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info

10 Apr 2021 02 May 2021 0 US$ 235.00

Orientation
Sat 10 Apr 2021
01:00 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session 2
Sun 11 Apr 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Sun 11 Apr 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 1
Sat 17 Apr 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Sat 17 Apr 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 01 May 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Monterey - Breakwater
Open Water Day 2
Sun 02 May 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Monterey - Breakwater
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info

01 Jun 2021 20 Jun 2021 7 US$ 235.00

Orientation
Tue 01 Jun 2021
06:30 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session1
Tue 08 Jun 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Thu 10 Jun 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Tue 15 Jun 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Thu 17 Jun 2021
08:00 PM
60 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 19 Jun 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Open Water Day 2
Sun 20 Jun 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info

05 Jun 2021 20 Jun 2021 3 US$ 235.00

Orientation
Sat 05 Jun 2021
01:00 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session 1
Sat 12 Jun 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Sat 12 Jun 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Sun 13 Jun 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Sun 13 Jun 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 19 Jun 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Open Water Day 2
Sun 20 Jun 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info

03 Jul 2021 18 Jul 2021 4 US$ 235.00

Orientation
Sat 03 Jul 2021
01:00 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session 1
Sat 10 Jul 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Sat 10 Jul 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Sun 11 Jul 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Sun 11 Jul 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 17 Jul 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Open Water Day 2
Sun 18 Jul 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info

06 Jul 2021 25 Jul 2021 7 US$ 235.00

Orientation
Tue 06 Jul 2021
06:30 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session1
Tue 13 Jul 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Thu 15 Jul 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Tue 20 Jul 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Thu 22 Jul 2021
08:00 PM
60 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 24 Jul 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Open Water Day 2
Sun 25 Jul 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info

03 Aug 2021 22 Aug 2021 8 US$ 235.00

Orientation
Tue 03 Aug 2021
06:30 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session1
Tue 10 Aug 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Thu 12 Aug 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Tue 17 Aug 2021
06:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Thu 19 Aug 2021
08:00 PM
60 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 21 Aug 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Open Water Day 2
Sun 22 Aug 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info

07 Aug 2021 22 Aug 2021 4 US$ 235.00

Orientation
Sat 07 Aug 2021
01:00 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session 1
Sat 14 Aug 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Sat 14 Aug 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Sun 15 Aug 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Sun 15 Aug 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 21 Aug 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Open Water Day 2
Sun 22 Aug 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info

04 Sep 2021 19 Sep 2021 4 US$ 235.00

Orientation
Sat 04 Sep 2021
01:00 PM
60 minutes
Dive Shop
Knowledge Development Session 1
Sat 11 Sep 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 1
Sat 11 Sep 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Knowledge Development Session 2
Sun 12 Sep 2021
11:00 AM
02 hours 30 minutes
Dive Shop
Confined Water Session 2
Sun 12 Sep 2021
02:30 PM
02 hours 30 minutes
Scuba Time Pool
Open Water Day 1
Sat 18 Sep 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Open Water Day 2
Sun 19 Sep 2021
07:30 AM
06 hours 00 minutes
Lake Tahoe - Meeks Bay
Instructor(s): Justin Meath,

Request More Info